Tomato seedlings happy in their milk jugs (and after the cold snap, too!) These are Brandywine heirlooms.

Now, I know these are quite small compared to flats I could buy at the Farmer’s Market or even at the hardware store. And they are probably smaller than seedlings grown indoors under lamps.

However, by the end of the season, all the little plants will have caught up with the big ones, and all the tomatoes will be ripening more or less at the same time. And these plants are also hardened and thoroughly acclimated to my patch. Plus, I didn’t spend a dime on electricity for lamps, pots, or trays. In fact, the hardest work this season has been posting on this blog! And that’s the way the lazy gardener likes it.

Of course, winter sowing isn’t really an industrial scale operation. I wouldn’t want to manage an acre of milk jugs. But I’m into horticulture, not agriculture. Crossed fingers against blight, but I should end up with more than I can eat.

Oh, because I was ranting, I almost forgot the important point: We see again the pattern that cracks in the soil encourage sprouting, as does (I’m guessing) the little bit of extra warmth near the edge of the jug. But we also have seeds randomly sprouting in no pattern, even though the seeds were put into the jugs in a rough, 3×3 grid with a seed dispenser. So, in the pico-climate of the jug, the seeds move around in the soil. Why is that?

Because if I can understand why, perhaps I can make them happier, which is the kind of work I like do to.

