I started planting the white clover around the garden two days ago during the warm rain. (See here for clover’s stacking functions). I want a solid border of clover round the entire garden, and not enough clover volunteers self-seeded to achieve that, alas.

Before I scattered the clover seeds, I ripped out all the quack grass clumps and raked away leaves where they had blown up against the fence. After I scattered the seeds, I “punctured” the soil with a heavy metal rake to create irregularities, so the rain didn’t carry all the seeds away. After I had disturbed the soil in these ways, I noticed that the soil was a lot softer than last year, and there were lots of worms. Could have been the warm rain, I guess, but I’d like to think the clover broke the soil up and made it better. Readers? Any experience with this?

